Stream The New John Cale Single Here!

I Wanna Talk 2 U is the first track to be aired from the forthcoming album Shifty Adventures in Nookie Wood (released on 1st October in the UK).

I Wanna Talk 2 U is also the album’s opening track, of it John says:
“Danger Mouse and I kept trying to find time to record together and we found a 48-hour window a few years back and ended up with something like 3 or 4 songs.  When I was recording this album, I realized I’d written a few songs in a similar vein and recalled one of the songs Brian and I started but had never finished. So I thought I’d finish writing it and see if it felt as close to the album as I had begun to envisage. Then when it was done, I thought, it’s got the right opening vibe for my story!”

From the off, John envisioned ‘an old-school Detroit vibe’, something present in the track’s urgent wah-wah and insistent stomp. Lyrically however, he has eschewed the usual content of a broken heart or philandering cheater in favour of something all together more John Cale, something much more oblique…

John Cale live dates are as follows:
Wednesday 3rd October                     Dublin                      The Button Factory
Friday 5th October                               Edinburgh             HMV Picture House
Saturday 6th October                           Manchester           HMV Ritz
Sunday 7th October                             Cardiff                      Coal Exchange
Wednesday 10th October                   Cambridge             The Junction
Thursday 11th October                       Birmingham         HMV Institute Library
Saturday 13th October                        London                     Royal Festival Hall

 

Photo Credit Shawn Brackbill

Leave a Reply

